Mollie's Adventures

Learning something new everyday

Is it worth the respect?

on July 7, 2011

Having worked in a daycare before the job I have now has helped me a lot. I have learned so much about how to deal with kids, how to react to kids and it has really helped. But one thing I have learned is you can’t just be a kid’s friend, if you are going to be a good teacher/instructor, the kids need to respect you. This means you have to be tough sometimes, and you will have to deal with the kids not liking you sometimes. I get that and I am okay with it, yeah it kinda sucks sometimes, when you have to get mad at the kids but then you earn respect right? They know that they cannot mess around and they get their act together with you. They listen when you talk because they know that is the rules.

It is just tough when you are the only person who feels that way. Right now I kinda feel like the only one who really deals with a lot of the kids at my work. I know the people I work with are good and when they see something they deal with it. But I seem to deal with a lot.  I know I am the one to often just stand to the sides when they are playing games so I can keep a count of the kids and watch for kids not getting along while everyone else is playing. So it means that I have had to deal with many kids, because I am the one who sees it all. But they don’t mess around when I say something. And I think that is good. I think having the respect is important right? It is like the parents who just want to be their kids best friend… well that does not work because when you do not discipline a child then they think they can get away with whatever and it makes it so much more difficult when you have to deal with that child later on. And then they just take over, and think they can do anything.

I don’t know maybe I am over reacting. I just miss my old job. There we were all on the same page about respect. And that you dealt with disrespect right away, and we were all the ones to discipline. We all took that on, so one person was not always the “mean teacher”. It was good it helped a lot. I think a lot of my problems are having to go from that job to the new one.

But honestly, I just miss my old job every single day. I just want to be back there, where I am respected, and cared about. I really don’t get the feeling like that at my new job, and that is hard. I honestly feel that if I didn’t go to work no one would notice or care too much. That it would be no different if I was there or if I wasn’t. But at my old job the kids loved me, and would miss me if I wasn’t there often, they would ask when I am going to be with them next, they would just want to be with me. Play games, colour, anything, they just like being with me. Also the ladies I worked with would say they liked having me around as well. So I really felt needed there. I guess that is my biggest problem. I just want to feel needed, and I don’t feel that at this job.

So what do I do?

Leave a Reply

