Mollie's Adventures

Learning something new everyday

Wise words from a wise woman.

on May 31, 2011

For the past couple days I have definitely not been myself. I have been feeling a little down, under the weather. I have been struggling with many decisions. They are not my usual simple decisions that I really just over think and should just get over it. These are really important ones.

I found that one of the hardest things was I am afraid to make the wrong choice. A choice that would really mess up what was going on in my life. I think that is what I am most afraid of. Making the wrong choice. Because what if… And then you see I go on in circles well what if this and what if that. Trust me, my what ifs go on and on.

So this decision has been all I have been thinking about, it’s all I talk about,  and I even keep having nightmares about it. It really has taken over my life. I guess in some ways that is a good thing, because I am not taking on my procrastinating ways and leaving it until the last moment.

In many times of trouble I called someone who I knew could help me. Well at least I hoped.

I called my mom, I explained everything to her, even started to tear up just from the pure frustration and pressure I was feeling. She didn’t tell me what to do, even when I begged and begged. I just wanted someone to tell me what to do, I had gone back and forth with what to do for so long. But no, she said its all up to me. She then said one of the most important things. It took me a while to figure out how valuable her words are.

She told me to “Remember there is no wrong decision just a different outcome.”

When on the phone with her I just didn’t really take it in what she had just told me. I just wanted the choice to be made.

It was not until she reminded me today that I really thought about it. The decision I have does not have a wrong choice. It just has different outcomes. It seems so simple, why did I not think of it before. I had let my head cloud over with all these what ifs, and issues and everything. But those words helped me more than anything else.

I have almost made my choice, I still have a few things to work out but I can promise you I am close.

But I have to say, when facing a tough decision, really remember that there is not a wrong one. It does help.

And thank you to my mom, who knew exactly what to say to help me. Even when I didn’t even know it.

Mom, you are one of the smartest people I know. Thank you

Leave a Reply

